TheTraderWiki

Pepperstone review

Pepperstone is a regulated forex and CFD broker offering a broad selection of platforms. You can use MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader, TradingView and its own platform. It’s regulated in the UK, Australia, Germany, Cyprus and Dubai, while its global company is regulated in the Bahamas. Pepperstone publishes both average spreads and minimums. Retail clients get negative balance protection from every Pepperstone company, the global one included. The trade-off is a small crypto range, and the global company advertises up to 1,000:1 leverage, but its own table goes no higher than 500:1, with 200:1 for retail clients. You can pick your country below to find out which Pepperstone company you’d be with.

Written by 18 min readUpdated

Pepperstone at a glance

Pepperstone stands out for its platform options, the pricing it publishes and where it’s regulated, though there are a couple of things to weigh up.

  • A wide choice of platformsMetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader and TradingView, where you can trade from the chart, plus Pepperstone’s own platform (trading platforms).
  • Average spreads publishedPepperstone shows average spreads and minimums. On its Razor account, EUR/USD averages 0.1 pips with a commission added on top (EUR/USD spreads).
  • Regulated in six placesCompanies authorised by the FCA, ASIC, BaFin, CySEC and the DFSA, each giving retail clients negative balance protection. Its global company is licensed in the Bahamas, and its terms give retail clients the same protection (terms).
  • What to weigh upA small range of 31 crypto CFDs, and a headline of up to 1,000:1 at the global company that matches no row of its own leverage table (maximum leverage).

Leverage at Pepperstone’s global company

Pepperstone’s global company in the Bahamas gives retail clients leverage well above the 30:1 that its UK, Australian, German, Cyprus and Dubai companies give them (maximum leverage). With more leverage you take bigger positions, so you face bigger losses and bigger gains.

  • Up to 200:1 on goldGold goes up to 200:1 for retail clients at the global company, and other metals such as silver go up to 10:1 (Pepperstone pricing).
  • Up to 200:1 on forexEvery forex pair goes up to 200:1 at the global company, including EUR/USD and GBP/USD (Pepperstone pricing).
  • Up to 50:1 on oilWTI and Brent both go up to 50:1, and so do most other commodities (Pepperstone pricing).
  • Up to 20:1 on Bitcoin and sharesBitcoin and share CFDs such as Apple and NVIDIA go up to 20:1 (BTC/USD, Pepperstone pricing).

Is Pepperstone regulated where you live?

Pepperstone is regulated in every country it serves here. The company that opens your account and its regulator decide your leverage and protections, and where you live usually picks which Pepperstone company that is. In the United Kingdom, Pepperstone usually places someone with Pepperstone Limited, regulated by the FCA, which gives 30:1 and negative balance protection as a right. Someone in Brazil usually gets the global company, Pepperstone Markets Limited, licensed by the Securities Commission of The Bahamas, with more leverage, up to 200:1 on forex, and fewer protections. Because the Cyprus company’s Spanish site accepts only Spanish residents who qualify as professional clients, Spain lists no company.

Even if the global company takes you on, the group also holds licences from the FCA, ASIC, BaFin, CySEC and the DFSA. Those regulators check who owns and runs the group and hold the group’s companies in their countries to their rules on capital and client money, though those rules protect only those companies’ clients. The last column gives what the global company’s own terms say about your country.

CountryCompany that serves youHighest retail leverageNegative balance protectionThe group’s global companyHighest retail leverageNegative balance protectionIts terms on your country
GermanyPepperstone GmbH (BaFin)30:1A retail rightPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightIts terms exclude residents of the European Union, and that covers your country.
SpainNo company listed heren/an/aPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightIts terms exclude residents of the European Union, and that covers your country.
FrancePepperstone EU Limited (CySEC)30:1A retail rightPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightIts terms exclude residents of the European Union, and that covers your country.
ItalyPepperstone EU Limited (CySEC)30:1A retail rightPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightIts terms exclude residents of the European Union, and that covers your country.
PolandPepperstone EU Limited (CySEC)30:1A retail rightPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightIts terms exclude residents of the European Union, and that covers your country.
PortugalPepperstone EU Limited (CySEC)30:1A retail rightPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightIts terms exclude residents of the European Union, and that covers your country.
United KingdomPepperstone Limited (FCA)30:1A retail rightPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightIts terms exclude residents of your country.
AustraliaPepperstone Group Limited (ASIC)30:1A retail rightPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightIts terms exclude residents of your country.
ArgentinaPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
BrazilPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
ChilePepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
ColombiaPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
MexicoPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
PeruPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
IndonesiaPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
MalaysiaPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
PhilippinesPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
ThailandPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a
VietnamPepperstone Markets Limited (Bahamas SCB)200:1A retail rightThe same companyn/an/an/a

These figures were checked between 4 October 2026 and 17 October 2026. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

Forex basket at the global company

Forex at the Bahamas company has one retail limit, 200:1, for every pair. Spreads are in pips. The Standard account charges no commission and adds a one-pip mark-up, while the Razor account charges a commission that differs by platform. Contract size, lot limits, trading hours and overnight financing aren’t published.

Key NP not published by the provider

Eight forex pairs at the global company, each cell as the company publishes it or shown as not published.
InstrumentLeverage ceilingSpreadCommissionContract sizeMinimum lotMaximum lotTrading hoursOvernight financing
EURUSD200:1Razor: 0 pips min, 0.1 pips avg · Standard: 1 pip min, 1.1 pips avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
USDJPY200:1Razor: 0 pips min, 0.2 pips avg · Standard: 1 pip min, 1.2 pips avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
GBPUSD200:1Razor: 0 pips min, 0.2 pips avg · Standard: 1 pip min, 1.2 pips avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
AUDUSD200:1Razor: 0 pips min, 0.1 pips avg · Standard: 1 pip min, 1.1 pips avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
USDCAD200:1Razor: 0 pips min, 0.2 pips avg · Standard: 1 pip min, 1.2 pips avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
USDCHF200:1Razor: 0 pips min, 0.2 pips avg · Standard: 1 pip min, 1.2 pips avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
EURGBP200:1Razor: 0.1 pips min, 0.2 pips avg · Standard: 1.1 pips min, 1.2 pips avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
EURJPY200:1Razor: 0.2 pips min, 0.9 pips avg · Standard: 1.2 pips min, 1.9 pips avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP

These figures were checked on 14 September 2026. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

Commission, for every instrument in the table above: Standard: No commission. "We don't charge commission on margin FX trades made on our Standard account. There's a 1 pip markup on margin FX pairs." · Razor: "Commission on the Pepperstone platform is calculated as 3.5 USD per 1 standard FX lot per side." cTrader: 6 USD roundtrip fixed per unit. TradingView: 7 USD roundtrip fixed per unit. MT4/5: based on account currency and lot size.

Crypto basket at the global company

Crypto leverage is published only for Bitcoin, because the pricing page names no other coin. Neither account charges commission on crypto.

Key NP not published by the provider

Eight cryptocurrencies at the global company, each cell as the company publishes it or shown as not published.
InstrumentLeverage ceilingSpreadCommissionContract sizeMinimum lotMaximum lotTrading hoursOvernight financing
BTCUSD20:1Razor: USD 10 min, USD 15.15 avg · Standard: USD 10 min, USD 15.15 avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
ETHUSDNPRazor: USD 2 min, USD 2.01 avg · Standard: USD 2 min, USD 2.01 avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
XRPUSDNPRazor: USD 2 min, USD 5.1 avg · Standard: USD 2 min, USD 5.1 avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
SOLUSDNPRazor: USD 2 min, USD 4.1 avg · Standard: USD 2 min, USD 4.1 avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
BNBUSDNPRazor: USD 6.7 min, USD 11.5 avg · Standard: USD 6.7 min, USD 11.5 avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
DOGEUSDNPRazor: USD 9 min, USD 9.2 avg · Standard: USD 9 min, USD 9.2 avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
ADAUSDNPRazor: USD 4 min, USD 4 avg · Standard: USD 4 min, USD 4 avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP
LTCUSDNPRazor: USD 2.5 min, USD 2.5 avg · Standard: USD 2.5 min, USD 2.5 avgThe same for every instrument, under the tableNPNPNPNPNP

These figures were checked on 14 September 2026. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

Commission, for every instrument in the table above: Standard: No commission. "We don't charge commission on cryptocurrency CFDs." · Razor: No commission. "We don't charge commission on cryptocurrency CFDs."

Account maximum against instrument ceilings

The Bahamas company’s account maximum of 200:1 holds for forex, gold and major indices (costs and fees page). Crypto and shares stop at 20:1, and metals other than gold at 10:1.

The advertised account maximum against the highest and lowest ceilings published on the basket instruments.
BasketAccount maximumHighest instrument ceilingLowest instrument ceiling
Forex200:1200:1200:1
Crypto200:120:120:1
Commodities200:1200:110:1
Shares200:120:120:1

These figures were checked between 14 September 2026 and 26 September 2026. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

Elsewhere in the group, the UK company publishes its margin tiers for each instrument. The Australian company sets tiers across the whole account but doesn’t publish them, and the German and Cyprus companies say nothing on tiers. None of them promises notice before changing leverage.

Costs it publishes

Pepperstone’s European costs document gives average spreads of 0.1 and 1.1 pips on its two accounts. The overnight charge is tied to tom-next, and there’s no inactivity fee.

What the group publishes about its trading costs, field by field.
AttributeValue
Average spread publishedYes
Method and periodNo
Swap benchmarkYes
Swap mark-upYes
Inactivity fee statedYes

These figures come straight from each broker’s published information, with no check date noted. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

Funding

Funding on the group’s global pages takes USDT as the only named coin, and those crypto deposits go to the Bahamas company. The UK and Australian companies set their own terms, shown in the by-country table below, and the same facts for every broker are on the comparison page. Because the broker can change these terms and those in the by-country table below at its own discretion, always double-check them on the broker’s own website before you deposit.

How the group’s global company says an account can be funded.
AttributeValue
Card depositsYes
Bank transferYes
Crypto depositsUSDT (TRC20, BEP20, ERC20)
Base currenciesUSD, EUR, GBP, AUD, CAD, CHF, JPY, NZD, SGD, HKD
Minimum deposit10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
Deposit and withdrawal feesAt the global company, no deposit fee and $20 for an international bank withdrawal
Withdrawal timeUp to 1 working day, cards and wallets

These figures were checked between 10 September 2026 and 29 September 2026. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

Funding, by country

Funding from Australia can use PayID and BPAY, and Thailand gets PromptPay. Outside those two, no country here has a local payment rail the group accepts. Crypto deposits are taken from Australia and from every Latin American and South-east Asian country, but not by the UK and Cyprus companies. The German company publishes no funding methods at all.

Key NP not published by the provider

What a resident of each country can use to fund an account: cards, the payment rails local to the country that the group accepts, whether a crypto deposit is taken from there and the minimum deposit at the company that serves it.
CountryAvailableCard depositsLocal payment railsCrypto depositsMinimum deposit
GermanyYesYesNoneNPNP
Spainno company listed for this countryn/an/an/an/a
FranceYesYesNoneNo€10 by Apple Pay, Google Pay, card or PayPal
ItalyYesYesNoneNo€10 by Apple Pay, Google Pay, card or PayPal
PolandYesYesNoneNo€10 by Apple Pay, Google Pay, card or PayPal
PortugalYesYesNoneNo€10 by Apple Pay, Google Pay, card or PayPal
United KingdomYesYesNoneNo£10 by card, none by bank transfer
AustraliaYesYesPayID, BPAYYes10 in the account’s base currency
ArgentinaYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
BrazilYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
ChileYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
ColombiaYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
MexicoYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
PeruYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
IndonesiaYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
MalaysiaYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
PhilippinesYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
ThailandYesYesPromptPay / Thai bankingYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency
VietnamYesYesNoneYes10, currency not stated, or the equivalent in the account’s base currency

These figures were checked between 27 September 2026 and 16 October 2026. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

Platforms and tools

Platforms on offer include cTrader and Pepperstone’s own as well as MetaTrader and TradingView. Pepperstone’s hosted servers are free, but only with Pro status.

Key NP not published by the provider

Platforms, tools and related fields, as the group states them.
AttributeValue
MetaTrader 4Yes
MetaTrader 5Yes
cTraderYes
TradingViewYes, trading from its charts
Proprietary platformPepperstone platform
API accessREST and FIX (FIX needs €160m monthly volume)
Copy tradingNP
Hosted serversFree, gated on Pro status
Analysis toolsSmart Trader Tools (60+ apps)
Minimum lot0.01

These figures come straight from each broker’s published information, with no check date noted. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

What you can trade

You can trade over 1,350 instruments, most of them share CFDs, but no bonds or options. Pepperstone’s figures were sourced on 12 March 2025, as its own page states (trading accounts).

Key NP not published by the provider

Instruments per asset class, the total, and the classes not offered.
AttributeValue
Currency pairs93
Crypto CFDs31
Share CFDs1,162
ETF CFDs95
Index CFDs26
Commodity CFDs40
All instruments1,350+
Swap-free accountsNP
Not offered at allBonds, options

These figures come straight from each broker’s published information, with no check date noted. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

More markets don’t always mean a better broker for you. Leverage, overnight financing, execution and costs often affect a trade more (what matters besides the market count).

Every company in the group

Each company holds its own licence, and the protection comes with that licence. The Dubai company, under the DFSA, isn’t the one for any country above. Only the UK company’s filed accounts are shown, and Pepperstone isn’t listed on a stock exchange.

Key NP not published by the provider

Each regulated company in the group: regulator and licence, the source of the licence number, negative balance protection and the latest accounts filed.
CompanyRegulator and licenceCompany numberLicence sourceNegative balance protectionLatest filed accounts
Pepperstone LimitedFCA FRN 68431208965105The regulator’s registerA retail rightYear to 30 June 2025: revenue 15,040,968 GBP, net assets 30,456,819 GBP
Pepperstone Group LimitedASIC AFSL 414530ABN 12 147 055 703The regulator’s registerA retail rightNP
Pepperstone EU LimitedCySEC CIF 388/20HE 398429The regulator’s registerA retail rightNP
Pepperstone GmbHBaFin 151148NPThe regulator’s registerA retail rightNP
Pepperstone Financial Services (DIFC) LtdDFSA F004356NPThe regulator’s registerA retail rightNP
Pepperstone Markets LimitedBahamas SCB SIA-F217, self-statedNPThe regulator’s registerA retail rightNP

These figures were checked between 4 October 2026 and 17 October 2026. Confirm them with the broker before you open an account.

What the group does not publish

The group doesn’t publish whether it offers copy trading or swap-free accounts. Most details on the basket instruments are missing too.

  • Copy trading
  • Swap-free accounts
  • Contract size: not published for 29 of the basket instruments
  • Minimum lot: not published for 29 of the basket instruments
  • Maximum lot: not published for 29 of the basket instruments
  • Trading hours: not published for 29 of the basket instruments
  • Overnight financing: not published for 29 of the basket instruments
  • Leverage ceiling: not published for 7 of the basket instruments
  • Spread: not published for 13 of the basket instruments
  • Commission: not published for 13 of the basket instruments

Common questions about Pepperstone

Pepperstone’s answers vary by company, so every answer below tells you which Pepperstone company it applies to.

Is Pepperstone regulated?

Yes, Pepperstone is regulated through six companies. Pepperstone Limited has FCA firm reference number 684312 and Pepperstone EU Limited has CySEC licence 388/20. The other Pepperstone companies are under ASIC, BaFin, the DFSA and the Securities Commission of The Bahamas.

Which Pepperstone company would I be with?

Your Pepperstone company usually depends on where you live, and that company’s regulator sets your leverage and protections. The UK, Australia and Germany each have their own company. Pepperstone usually places people in France, Italy, Poland and Portugal with Pepperstone EU Limited in Cyprus. Those in Latin America and South-east Asia are usually placed with Pepperstone Markets Limited in the Bahamas. Spain isn’t served for retail clients.

What leverage does Pepperstone offer?

Pepperstone gives retail clients up to 30:1 at the UK, Australian, German, Cyprus and Dubai companies. Professionals get 500:1 at the UK company. The Bahamas company gives retail clients 200:1 on forex, gold and major indices, 50:1 on most other commodities, 20:1 on shares and 10:1 on other metals (Pepperstone costs and fees).

What is Pepperstone’s minimum deposit?

Pepperstone needs a minimum deposit of ten pounds by card at the UK company, and nothing by bank transfer. The Australian company and global pages list 10 as the minimum deposit without naming a currency. None of the three charges a deposit fee.

Does Pepperstone offer MT4, MT5 or TradingView?

Yes, Pepperstone’s UK and Australian companies both give you all three (MetaTrader). On the global pages you also get cTrader and Pepperstone’s own platform.

Does Pepperstone have negative balance protection?

Yes, negative balance protection is a retail right at all six Pepperstone companies. Clause 6.2 of the terms at the Bahamas company states that a retail client “won’t be liable for any negative equity balance”. Pro clients there get it only at the company’s discretion, up to USD 100,000 and once (terms).

Opening a Pepperstone account

Risk warning

A well-regulated counterparty doesn’t make the product safe

A well-regulated counterparty, the firm on the other side of your trade, protects you only if that firm fails while it holds your money. It does nothing when the price moves against you, and that’s far more likely.

Read the risk disclosure before opening any account, and read the maximum leverage page for what an advertised ratio really means.

Sources

The original documents this page cites, in the order they first appear.

  1. Pepperstone — Forex pairs and live spreads, Pepperstone Markets Limited, 2026-09-14
  2. Financial Conduct Authority, FCA
  3. Australian Securities and Investments Commission, ASIC
  4. Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht, BaFin
  5. Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission, CySEC
  6. Dubai Financial Services Authority, DFSA
  7. Pepperstone Markets Limited — Terms and Conditions (December 2025), Pepperstone Markets Limited, 2026-10-11
  8. Pepperstone — Pricing (maximum leverage by asset class), Pepperstone Markets Limited, 2026-09-26
  9. Pepperstone — Cryptocurrency CFD spreads and pricing, Pepperstone Markets Limited, 2026-09-14
  10. Pepperstone — Costs and fees (global site), Pepperstone Markets Limited, 2026-10-11
  11. Pepperstone — Trading accounts (global site), Pepperstone Markets Limited, 2026-10-11
  12. FCA Financial Services Register: Pepperstone Limited, FRN 684312, Financial Conduct Authority
  13. ASIC Australian Financial Services licensee dataset, October 2026, Australian Securities and Investments Commission, 2026-10
  14. CySEC register of Cyprus Investment Firms: Pepperstone EU Limited, licence 388/20, Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission
  15. BaFin company database: Pepperstone GmbH, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht
  16. DFSA public register: Pepperstone Financial Services (DIFC) Limited, Dubai Financial Services Authority
  17. Firms registered under the Securities Industry Act, as at 30 September 2026, Securities Commission of The Bahamas, 2026-09-30